top of page
Search

Exclusive Interview with Chigo Chiggxz


 

Chigo Chiggxz is a 19 year old upcoming rapper from Lusaka, Zambia. The name Chigo Chiggxz comes from his my full name “Chigomezyo” which is a Thumbuka (local tribe) name meaning “Hope”. "The name Chigo Chiggxz came about in 2013, while at 8th grade but then I used to spell it as “Chigo Chiggss” and when I was a a little younger I called myself Chiggxz Star so I just switched everything all up", Chigo Explained.


According to the rapper, he started rapping way back when he was 9 years but he would just copy lyrics from artists and rap them out like his own because he didn’t know much about music at that time let alone couldn’t write a single rap line. "When I went in secondary school in 2013, that’s when I started to practice my craft as I was in a class that had lots of rappers so I began to learn from them and in that same year that’s when I dropped my first song which was a class record", he stated.


Chigo Chiggxz tells us about his motivation, "following the passing of my dad in 2011, I'd say my mom is my biggest motivation in everything I do, from my school life to the music life and the success I'm trying to reach. My two sisters and my girlfriend are also 3 people that keep me doing what I do", said Chigo. Besides music Chigo is doing his 1st year in varsity studying Computer Science and says he is still trying to balance both his music and school.


It's no surprise that Chigo looks up to Nasty-C, here's what he had to say - "The reason I look up to him is simple, his lyricism game is out of this world; his music just hits differently and is out of this world too. Nasty-C is always making music for the youth and paving a way for youngins through the lessons he puts out in his songs yet he is so young but he is already doing big things".


Get In Touch:

· Instagram: @chigochiggxz

· Twitter: @chigo_chiggxz

· Facebook: Chigo Chiggxz



#LIMITS_RSA Supporting

116 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page